Mind-machine Mary

by jbyron

New painting. As with much of my work, the inspiration behind this piece came from one of my commercial designs. I drew up a logo for a band a few years ago called Mind-machine Mary. As far as i know, the band never went anywhere but i always dug the industrial looking head that i designed for them; my interpretation of their name. A good name.  I digress… so i always thought the head needed a body, and here we are.

why you buggin'?

I know, I know, again with the filigree pattern – i can’t get away from it. There’s the stencil, laying on the floor of my studio and every time i think i’m finished with a painting, i can’t help but grab it and spray. It’s a sickness. And don’t ask about the bees. I saw this bee pattern for this particular piece from the very beginning, although i can’t explain why. But when a higher force guides you, it’s best not to question. Don’t question the force. Everyone knows that. Although… now that i think about it, it’s probably got something to do with this – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QgmyVLheqkQ

Here’s a detail:

detail

Mind-machine Mary will be on display at UPSTAIRS during the next downtown art crawl, Feb 4. Price available upon request.

