WhIP

by jbyron

Okay… this is what happens when I have absolutely no plan. I was (am) hesitant about posting this image as I hate for my fellow artists to know what a hack I am, alas…

A friend of mine found 3 horrible, lobby-style paintings being thrown away (with good reason) and rescued them, realizing that a canvas can have a new life if just given a chance. Enter me – to resuscitate. I had to throw one away, it was just too warped – and not the good kind of warped. But anyway…

I rarely paint without having an endgame in mind – but because of that, I’ve lost the ability to improvise a bit – plus I rely on my stencils WAY too much. So i thought I would use these enormous (and free) canvases as a sketch pad. For practice. For fun.

It’s unlikely this painting will resemble the photo above once it’s finished – I’ve been tacking on new details and painting over the parts that don’t work every chance i get. And “the parts that don’t work” are about 60% of the canvas at this point. It’s definitely a work in progress – hence the name.  I’m thinking there needs to be some skulls and flowers, maybe some more radios, a couple faces thrown in somehwhere…  i don’t know… maybe a ninja or some speech balloons.  Stay tuned…

