The Sighting

by jbyron

Okay, here are those street pieces that i mentioned weeks ago – finally got around to shooting them (with my phone no less). This first piece i’ve actually done before; same size, same location, everything. The thing that makes these pieces unique – or rare at least as i’m sure someone out there has probably done this before – is that instead of using spraypaint, i use dirt.

I use a light adhesive to adhere the stencil to the wall then i use a strong adhesive spray like i would traditionally use spraypaint – i spray that all over (and i must’ve used a lot this time because it’s hardly aged a day since i put it up 3 weeks ago) – then i rub dirt over the stencil/adhesive. What’s left is a design that doesn’t look so out of place as spraypaint would. Even if the viewer doesn’t know it’s dirt, something about the organic nature of the medium makes it blend into the surface better… there’s no shine to the dirt… no color that looks out of place. All that. I think the powers that be are calling methods like this, “green graffiti.” So be it.

I sell a photograph of the original off my website here. On the back, I include an explanation of the process and my intentions. I think people like to know the hows and whys of a piece like this. Maybe it’s due to the spiritual nature of the idea… they want to know that it’s not intended as a mockery.

This time however, i had a new idea to add to the mix. As a complimentary piece, right down the street, I did another piece using dirt as my medium. It looks like this:

It’s not actually wet, that shiny stuff is resin. But it looks wet. And that’s actually a big regret of mine. I used the resin because i wanted this piece to last – to stand the tests of time. I’m not disappointed so much that it looks wet; i’ve used this stuff for a while now and knew exactly how it would look once dry – i’m disappointed because the resin made the dirt look like paint – the wet nature of the resin when applied turned the dirt muddy, making it much darker and smoother. The concept is lost a bit when you can’t tell that dirt was used to spell out a message about dust. Well… live and learn.

Both of these pieces are on trenton street (antique alley), downtown monroe, LA.

