Look Away.

by jbyron

I’m working on a new series of paintings that incorporate text. Although in my attempts to create a unified number of pieces, i’m finding that some refuse to fit the criteria. I’ll be showing a couple of paintings from this series in the next few days, but first I want to show one that (despite my intentions) didn’t make the cut. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very happy with how this painting turned out – but once I got to the stage to add the text, I really didn’t see a place for it, not so much literally or spatially… it’s just that these pieces get a life of their own during their creation and this particular piece told me  (i speak paint) that adding words was a bad idea. Enough disclaimer.

Bad glare at the top, sorry about that. There’s a detail shot below that looks a bit better. So this design was supposed to have the words “Look Away” on it – hence the title of the post – alas, I’ve put the design into the computer and tried multiple ways to include the text and yet every attempt doesn’t really add to the design. So I think I’m done.

I have a thing with birds, crows specifically (I won’t go into why although the “look away” thing might be a hint to some) so even though the piece doesn’t fit into the family i was trying to create, I’m happy with it as is. Lately, i’ve been toying with abstracts. One thing I’ve learned from doing the abstracts is that no matter how they look at the end, I’m usually not happy with them because they don’t reflect my own sensibilities or interests or personality… whatever… but doing the abstracts did sharpen my tools for creating interesting color and chemical combinations.

If you’ve read this blog before, you probably know that i enjoy mixing any and every medium together to see what happens… some happy accidents I’ve now mastered, others not so much – this piece has a wood-carved look that was part accident/part intentional… meaning i could probably recreate the look and process if i had to… but I don’t plan on it.

Again, there’s a glare at the top – the lights in my studio – but the above detail shot gives a better look at the colors and depth. Been using fluorescent paint lately, you can see it breaking through the dark stain there, i like that. This piece is 24 X 36 and will be on display at UPSTAIRS in Monroe, LA come October. Price available upon request. Thanks for looking.

