Healthy Wealthy & Wise

by jbyron

Okay, so as I mentioned in the last post, I’m working on a series (or I WAS, more on that in a second) that uses text as the common theme. In the last few months, i’ve slowly been collecting short sayings, quotes and lyrics (and even just word combinations that i like together) that I intended to combine with visuals. I wanted it to be my first series. See, my work is very schizophrenic… I’m all over the place… my style might remain throughout and some familiar themes and images pop up from time to time but I’ve never intentionally created a group of pieces that all work under the same umbrella. So my goal was to do at least 7 paintings within this wordy idea – thing is, I was never excited about the idea. I use words often in my work but letting that happen naturally is one thing, forcing it is quite another. So to wrap this up, point is, I’ve abandoned the text series after only 2 paintings. But my need for a “series” has not died and I’m happy to say that I have a new idea that I’m genuinely excited about. We’ll see if it pans out. In the meantime, I wanted to show the first of the 2 paintings I did (I’ll show the 2nd later in the week). Here ya go:

If you follow this blog, some things about this painting may look familiar. That’s because you may have seen it before. I painted a couple of abstracts this year that although I liked a lot, they weren’t really me. Like many artists I hope, the ego is my copilot. I’m in the backseat resting comfortably waiting for my next stop at hotel fame. I need my work to reflect my ideals or interests in some small way, 2 of the 3 abstracts I painted actually accomplished this but mostly by (slightly guided) accident. The third (which you can see at the bottom of this post) did not. So I put it into the computer, kept the elements that i liked best and painted over the rest with ideas and methods that were a little more personal. Here’s a couple details:

I admit that the “Healthy Wealthy & Wise” thing was pulled from the graphics and not the other way around (my original intention). After first putting the words on, i didn’t like it at all – the words were just too strong and overpowering everything else. Funny how things work on the screen but not in real life. So I toned down the words A LOT. Now you can barely discern “wealthy & wise” but i’m okay with that. I would get into which images mean what and why but I just don’t want to. Probably better for the viewer to interpret it anyway. I will say that the gold owl is an image that has lain dormant in my mind for a long time. My mom use to have a brass owl (maybe she still does) that I grew up seeing everyday. I think that’s where it comes from.

And that’s that. This painting is fairly large at 3 X 4 feet. It will be on display at UPSTAIRS here in Monroe, LA come October. Price available upon request. Thanks for taking the time. As I mentioned, I’ll be showing the second painting in my abandoned text series later this week – it looks very different from this one, featuring an astronaut very prominently – so come back.

