DETAINMENT

by jbyron

Some paintings just work. A collaboration between technique and concept where both manage to shine independently while complimenting the other. Hopefully this relationship is maintained with intent by the creator. Now, in the case of my newest painting, i can honestly say that there was a straight line between my intent and my result. I wanted to mention that because if you’re a regular reader of this blog or know anything about my process, you know how rare that is. Most of my work hinges on the edge between chaos and concept, a culmination of my own impatience.  But this piece was different. In the past, i’ve experimented with chemical reactions when mixing mediums like aerosol, oil, glues, powders and stains. I’ve done this enough however, that my educated guesses are turning into straight-up educated know-how. Hence… this:

detainment

Not that any semblance of patience was present during this piece. I actually did most of it while the paint from the LL piece dried (see last week’s post). But I had a very clear idea of what i wanted, especially after finding that little fella in an old school book. And from past playing, i knew how to create the dark organic shape you see before you. This is truly an un-photographable image though. The top part is made up of many reflective properties from metallics to little bubbles preserved in a combination of wood stain, paint and glue. Yep, glue. I literally mixed in wood glue and just used it as i would  use white paint. It has a very textural surface. This detail shows it a little better (about 85% scale).

detainment_detail

The bottom is a simple spray of solid aerosol – montana brand spray paint, the color is Venice  – then i poured a bit of blueish watercolor on there, lightly wiped it, then dripped some wood stain in the puddles. The areas of stain look like little tumbleweeds. I’m down with that.

Once finished, i felt like the figure appeared to be painting the red line in an attempt to hold back all that darkness. After showing it to a friend who saw it the same way, she said “detainment,” and that said it all (thanks, t).

This piece strays a bit from the series i’m creating. But then again, so does the piece i’ll be showing next week – it’s hard for me to master a certain style because i get antsy (in my pantsy) and want to try different things…  or i don’t know if it’s a “want” really; while i’m working, i just let the moment dictate what i’m doing. This week’s moment dictated that i paint over 90% of my painting and start again. It was a moment mixed with frustration and liberation, but i’ll get to that in a couple of weeks.

Side shot:

detainment_detail2

The sides are actually white, just a dark photo. Thanks for reading. – jbn

 

